You

YOU

I did not know I wanted you

until you were gone.

You barely had a chance

but, oh little bunch of cells

how I miss the expectation of you.

 

My loss wells up in my throat

as I choke down unspent sobs.

Who else cares, none but I.

Who else mourns, none but I.

 

For the time we were connected

I was unsure and scared.

But now you’re gone, my heart

aches as if true love is lost.

 

I dream of that softness,

that vanilla baby smell.

I look at my kids and wonder,

which one would you most resemble.

 

Your mother weeps in private.

A bottomless well of tears –

I will shed for you.

My lost hope, my lost love,

my lost child.

 

W

4 thoughts on “You

Leave a Reply

