Missing post

I missed posting yesterday because I was busy living my life – visiting my daughter and granddaughter, had a fantastic day and it is always good to get dinnermade for me.  I then had a night out with my best friend.  This started off slow because the first pub was empty, the second one was filled with drunk older men trying to get out with even more drunk young women.  We then went back to the original pub we had been in and joined in the karaoke.  This was a bizarre experience because almost every song that was picked could have been included in the movie soundtrack – 100 ways to commit suicide.  

Now I am not the most optimistic person in the world but I thought the reason for going out on a saturday night was to have a good time.  The songs at this pub were dire and the singers even worse.  It got so bad that I eventually just got up to dance anyway.  These songs were really slow so I had to make my own entertainment, I just danced like my life depended on it.  I get carried away once I start dancing and have to make the best of every opportunity.  Its like I can be someone else for a little while.  One of my favourite things to do ever is dance.  I can’t say a good night was had by all but a good night was had by me. 

I spent today visiting my sister and talking to her daughter on skype.  Her daughter is away to Australia so it was really good to catch up with her.  I am jealous of her freedom.  There is another friend of mine who is finding a new lease of life in her forties and she is an inspiration to me.  I just need to wait till my kids are a little bit older before I can have that same freedom but I am looking forward to it all the same.  Growing old disgracefully is the order of the day so a little bit of rebellion here and there whilst I wait for my kids to need me a little less is always an injection of life in a world full of responsibility and rules.  

Today I have to knuckle down and get back into writing my essay and catching up on much needed housework.  I am getting new central heating so have a lot of work to do before that happens.  Busy day tomorrow, hope I can remember to get up on time.  Need to pack in a lot of things around the depths of hell and dropping weans off and picking them up.  

Need to try very hard this week to get time to write my essay and get it posted to my tutor.  Just this essay and then the final assignment and I will have completed my degree in Literature.  I can’t believe it is just around the corner.  It will be as useless as all my other qualifications in this current economic climate but it is an achievement nontheless.  I am proud of me because there have been many times that I wanted to throw in the towel but say what you want about me – I am no quitter though. 

Going to get the kids to bed as soon as possible tonight because they need the rest and I need the peace before school schedules, work commitments, writing and other chores take over my life. 

W

Leave a Reply

